Ranking The Frank Zappa Albums #45 YCDTOSA Vol 6

If you’ve been hit with a rhythm stick, you may be entitled to personal Ian Dury compensation.

In 1988, Frank Zappa released the first of 6 double CDs consisting of live performances throughout his long career. Called You Can’t Do That On Stage Anymore, it featured 182 songs spanning over 20 years and several versions of Zappa touring bands. Whilst it’s always great to hear any live Zappa, sometimes the series didn’t quite produce gold all the time, YCDTOSA 6 is a case in point. It’s probably the weakest of these live compilations, with all of the material on disc one has a sexual theme and has far too much talking than actual music which is quite a detriment. Disc two is a vastly better disc and includes performances from Zappa’s shows between 1976 and 1981 at the Palladium in New York City, featuring a blistering Thirteen which has L. Shankar on violin, as well as The Illinois Enema Bandit and Strictly Genteel that he frequently used as closing songs at concerts. Like the previous entry, it’s not a bad Zappa album, it’s just that there are 5 better editions of this series to listen to and enjoy. 2/5

Frank Zappa – conductor, main performer, guitar, vocals, synthesizer, producer
Mark Volman – vocals
Howard Kaylan – vocals
Lisa Popeil – vocals
Denny Walley – slide guitar, vocals
Ike Willis – guitar, vocals
Adrian Belew – guitar, vocals (tracks 2, 8, 10, 32)
Ray White – guitar, vocals
Warren Cuccurullo – guitar
Steve Vai – guitar
Mike Keneally – guitar, synthesizer, vocals
Bobby Martin – keyboards, vocals
Bob Harris – keyboards, vocals
Peter Wolf – keyboards
Allan Zavod – keyboards
George Duke – keyboards
Tommy Mars – keyboards
Ian Underwood – keyboards, alto saxophone
Lady Bianca – keyboards, vocals on “Wind up Workin’ in a Gas Station”
Patrick O’Hearn – bass guitar
Jeff Simmons – bass guitar
Arthur Barrow – bass guitar
Scott Thunes – bass guitar
Tom Fowler – bass guitar
Ralph Humphrey – drums
Vinnie Colaiuta – drums
Aynsley Dunbar – drums
Terry Bozzio – drums
Chad Wackerman – drums, electronic percussion
Ed Mann – electric percussion, percussion, backing vocals, marimba
Paul Carman – soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone
Napoleon Murphy Brock – saxophone, vocals
Albert Wing – tenor saxophone
Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone on “Black Napkins”
Kurt McGettrick – baritone saxophone, contrabass clarinet, bass saxophone
Walt Fowler – flugelhorn, synthesizer, trumpet
L. Shankar – violin
Jean-Luc Ponty – violin

Published by labarbaazul8067

I'm just a creature from the heap so excuse my savage ignorance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: